New Yesterday: 0
Registering: 0
Members: 6662
Latest: chrisw

Most Ever Online
Visitors: 447
Members: 10
Total: 457

HeliTorque :: View topic - PPL UK or USA??
Forum FAQ
Forum FAQ
Search
Search
Memberlist
Memberlist
Usergroups
Usergroups
Contact Manager
Contact Manager
HeliTorque Forum Index » Wannabes

PPL UK or USA?? Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
martdon
Shy 'Torquer
Shy 'Torquer

blank.gif

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:33 pm    Post subject: PPL UK or USA?? Reply with quote

Hi all, i'm just starting out on the exciting path of learning to fly. I've been checking out various US schools regarding costs, length of time it will take to pass my PPL and they all seem to contradict each other. Could anyone shed any light on this and recommend any schools? or would it be a better option to do the PPL in the UK? After completion i'm wanting to go onto the commercial course and is hour building ok to do in US?
any feedback would be appreciated.........
Zane
Shy 'Torquer
Shy 'Torquer

japan.gif

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:25 am    Post subject: Def US Reply with quote

Hi Martdon,
The place Im going for PPL in the States is :
http://www.airatlantahelicopters.com/

I have a few friends from the army around Atlanta and my uncle lives there so was a pretty natural choice for me.
PPL is generally between 12-15000 USD (compared to more than 30000 in my country) and will take you 6-8 weeks (the general reply Ive gotten from various schools) for full time training.Im going there for 3-4 months to do both Fixed wing and helicopter.
Been talking to a company on the west coast too www.civichelicopters.com and theyve been mighty helpful too.

http://www.bestaviation.net/art_how_to_become_a_pilot_jaa.asp
Has a bunch of schools and a lot of info.
Hope its helpful?!
afterburner
H Addict
H Addict

usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:23 am    Post subject: Heli training Reply with quote